Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Teaching Fellowships

Fellowships for USA High School Math and Science
Teachers for Professional Development Activities

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Knowles Science Teaching Foundation (KSTF)

Deadline Date:

12/01/19 11:59 PM PST


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships for USA early-career high school math and science teachers for career development and professional preparedness. Fellowships are intended to provide new math and science teachers with resources and support to improve education in the country's schools. Ideal fellowship candidates have a strong background in science and/or mathematics, and are committed to teaching these subjects to high school students in the United States. Fellows receive financial support, mentoring, coaching, and community membership.

Knowles seeks candidates who have at least the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree in a discipline related to the subject(s) they intend to teach, who demonstrate a flexibility within and connectedness across their own understanding of the discipline, who are passionate about the discipline and have a desire and curiosity to continue to push their own understanding of even basic concepts within the discipline.

The KSTF Teaching Fellowship is a five-year program divided into three phases, with each phase building on the next. Two key leadership development threads run through all five years of the program: practitioner inquiry and community-building. Aside from receiving financial support, Teaching Fellows are part of a network of like-minded individuals who share a dedication to science and mathematics education, and are grappling with the same issues of teacher preparation and professional growth.

Throughout the year, Fellows participate in the Knowles community via online workspaces. At Fall, Spring and Summer Fellows’ Meetings, Fellows are exposed to a variety of resources, curriculum materials, research, and experts in the field. Teaching Fellows may choose to take coursework at a college or university, attend a workshop for teachers, engage in a research project, or participate in an internship. 

Fellows may choose to use approximately half of their allocated funds for annual stipends. These stipends are intended to help Fellows reduce debts they may have incurred and the financial burden teachers often bear—both of which are factors that contribute to sustainability in the profession. Stipends can also be used to support Fellows financially during summer months, allowing them to concentrate on reflecting on the past year, preparing for the coming year and professional development, instead of taking on a part-time job.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 147793

Number of Grants:

Approximately 35 individuals are selected each year to receive KSTF Fellowships.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The Knowles Teaching Fellows Program provides benefits valued at approximately $150,000

Term of Contract:

This is a five-year fellowship program.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for consideration, individuals must:
- Have the capacity and determination to commit to teaching as their primary career;
- Have earned a degree in a major related to the mathematics or science discipline they intend to teach between 2010 and September 1, 2020;
- Have earned or will earn a valid state teaching credential/certificate/license that enables them to teach mathematics or science in grades 9-12 in the United States no earlier than January 1, 2015 and no later than September 1, 2020; and
- Be entering their first or second year as teacher of record during the 2020-2021 academic year.

For the purpose of eligibility, an applicant’s first year of teaching is considered to be the first year in which they teach full time for the full academic year as the teacher-of-record.

Individuals who are not citizens or who hold degrees from outside the United States are eligible for the Knowles Teaching Fellowship. However, they must be committed to teaching science or mathematics in U.S. high schools and possess a valid state teaching credential/certificate/license that enables them to teach grades 9–12 in the United States by September 1, 2020.

Fellowship is not intended to support individuals who are pursuing teaching on a temporary basis, or as a stepping stone to another career.

The Fellowship is a professional development and support program for beginning teachers. It does not provide a teaching credential. Fellows are required to participate in a recognized teacher preparation program that leads to obtaining a teaching license in the state where he or she wishes to teach by Sept. 1 of the year in which the Fellowship would begin. Fellows are expected to procure their own full-time teaching positions once credentialed.

Pre-Application Information:

Applications for 2020 Knowles Teaching Fellowships are due by 11:59 pm PST on December 1, 2019.

The selection process begins with the submission of an application and all required supplemental materials. Semi finalists for the Fellowship will be invited to participate in a telephone interview, which will take place in January 2020. Finalists will be invited to participate in a personal, face-to-face interview that will be conducted March 6–7, 2020 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (all travel expenses to and from the interview are covered by Knowles).

Fellowship awardees are announced in April each year. Fellows must be available to attend an orientation meeting held May 8–9, 2020 in southern New Jersey.


Program Details:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Register and Apply online:

Knowles Science Teaching Foundation
1000 N. Church Street
Moorestown, New Jersey 08057
Tel.: 856.608.0001
Fax: 856.608.0008

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming